RULES CHECKED 21 OCT 2026 · 31 AIRLINES
Is your power bank allowed on your flight?
Enter the capacity and pick your airline. You get a clear yes or no, taken from the airline’s own rules, with the source link.A clear yes or no from your airline’s own rules, with the source.
- Max 2 power banks per person, worldwide since 27 Mar 2026
- Up to 100 Wh: allowed without approval
- Carry-on only. No recharging on board
- Max 2 power banks per person
- Up to 100 Wh: no approval needed
- Carry-on only. No recharging on board
Power bank rules by airline
From each airline’s own page. Tap an airline for every rule and the source.
| Airline | Max power banks | No approval up to | Use on board | Recharge on board |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh | Limited | Not allowed |
| Delta Air Lines | 2 | 100 Wh | Limited | Not allowed |
| Southwest Airlines | 1 | 100 Wh | Limited | Not allowed |
| British Airways | 2 | 100 Wh | Not stated | Not allowed |
| Ryanair | 2 | 100 Wh | Limited | Not allowed |
| Lufthansa | 2 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| KLM | 2 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Turkish Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Emirates | 1 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Qatar Airways | 2 | 100 Wh | Limited | Not allowed |
| United Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh | Not stated | Not stated |
| Alaska Airlines | Not stated | 100 Wh | Not stated | Not stated |
| JetBlue | 2 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Air Canada | Not stated | 100 Wh | Not stated | Not stated |
| LATAM Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| easyJet | 2 | Not stated | Not allowed | Not stated |
| Air France | Not stated | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Wizz Air | 1 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Etihad Airways | 1 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| El Al | 1 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Singapore Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Cathay Pacific | 2 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Qantas | 2 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Japan Airlines | 2 | Not stated | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| ANA | 2 | Not stated | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Korean Air | Not stated | Not stated | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Air China | Not stated | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not stated |
| China Southern Airlines | Not stated | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| China Eastern Airlines | 2 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| IndiGo | 2 | 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Air India | 2 | 100 Wh | Limited | Not stated |
No airline matches. We cover 31 airlines — see the full list.
“Limited” = some use is allowed (e.g. not during take-off and landing). Open the airline for the exact wording.
The rules since 27 MARCH 2026
The worldwide rules, in 3 lines
2
Power banks per person, max
Worldwide minimum (ICAO). Some airlines allow only 1 — like Emirates, Etihad Airways and Southwest Airlines.
100 Wh
Allowed without approval
100–160 Wh: only some airlines, and only with their approval. Over 160 Wh: never.
0
Recharging on board
You can’t recharge a power bank on the plane. Many airlines also ban using it.
1 Jan 2027
New IATA rules (68th edition) start. IATA’s guidance lists power banks over 100 Wh as forbidden, while the US FAA and UK CAA still allow 100–160 Wh with approval. When an airline’s own rule is stricter, we show the airline’s rule. The 2026 rules
How to find the Wh of your power bank
Look at the label
It’s on the back or side, in small print.
See “Wh”? You’re done
Use that number. Up to 100 Wh is fine on most airlines.
Only mAh? Do the math
Wh = mAh × V ÷ 1000. Most power banks use 3.7 V.
Quick check at 3.7 V
10,000 mAh37 WhOver 100 Wh needs airline approval — and many airlines don’t allow it at all.
Questions travelers ask
Can I bring a 20,000 mAh power bank on a plane?
Yes. At 3.7 V it’s 74 Wh, under the 100 Wh limit, so 31 of the 31 airlines we track allow it without approval — in your carry-on only. 5 airlines allow only one power bank. See every airline
Can I put a power bank in checked luggage?
No. Power banks go in your carry-on only. The FAA’s poster says: “MUST BE CARRIED ON”. Full answer with sources
Can I use my power bank during the flight?
Often not. 21 of 31 airlines ban using it on board and 6 allow only limited use. EASA: “prohibition of use power banks to charge electronic devices during the flight”. Full answer with sources
How many power banks can I bring?
Two per person, worldwide, since 27 March 2026 (ICAO). Southwest Airlines, Wizz Air, Emirates, Etihad Airways and El Al allow only one. Full answer with sources
What if my power bank doesn’t show Wh or mAh?
Expect problems. British Airways, KLM, Wizz Air, Emirates, Etihad Airways, El Al, Qantas, China Southern Airlines and IndiGo say the rating must be shown, and some refuse power banks without it. Full answer with sources